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PUBLIC WORKS AND PREVAILING WAGE  
GUIDELINES AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF AWARDING BODIES AND 
CONTRACTORS AND THE OFFICE OF THE LABOR COMMISSIONER  

 
 

I. PURPOSE - This handbook is intended to provide general guidelines to help awarding bodies 
and contractors comply with Nevada’s prevailing wage laws. This handbook is not 
intended to be a substitute for Nevada’s statutes and regulations as set forth in the 
Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) section 338 and Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 
section 338, and any other applicable laws and regulations. 
 

II. GENERAL BACKGROUND 
 
a. “Public work” defined – Any project funded in whole or in part from public money for 

the “new construction, repair or reconstruction” of a public building, road, utility etc. 
(See NRS 338.010(17)) 
 

b. “Public body” defined – The State of Nevada or any county, city, town, school district 
or any public agency or any political subdivision sponsoring or financing a public work. 
(See NRS 338.010(16)) 

 
c. Prevailing wages – Pursuant to NRS 338.020, every contract over $250,000 (for 

Redevelopment Projects the contract amount is $100,000) to which a public body is a 
party and that requires the employment of skilled or unskilled labor in the performance 
of a public work must contain in expressed terms the rate of wages to be paid to each 
of the classes of workmen.  The rate of wages must not be less than the rate of such 
wages then prevailing in the county in which the public work is located. Unlike 
prevailing wage requirements under Federal law (Davis-Bacon) and requirements in 
many states that surround Nevada, Nevada’s prevailing wage requirements may be 
met by providing a combination of wages and permissible benefits to the mechanic or 
workman. 

 
i. Prevailing wage rates are published by the Office of the Labor Commissioner 

once a year, generally on October 1st. Amendments to those rates are 
published on an as needed basis and contain a specific effective date. 
Prevailing wage rates and amendments are posted on the Labor 
Commissioner’s website www.labor.nv.gov 
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ii. Exceptions to the applicability of the prevailing wage rate: 
 

1. Contracts awarded pursuant to the provisions of NRS Chapter 332 or 
333 which are directly related to the normal operation of the public body 
or the normal maintenance of its property.  (See NRS 338.011(1)) 
 

2. Contracts awarded to meet an emergency which threaten the health, 
safety or welfare of the public.(See NRS 338.011(2)) 

 
3. Any contract for a public work whose costs is less than $250,000.00. 

(Remember, a unit of a project may not be separated from the total cost 
in order to lower the total costs of the project below $250,000.00.)  (See 
NRS 338.080) 

 
4. Apprentices recorded/registered under the provisions of NRS Chapter 

610. (See NRS 338.080) 
 

5. Any work performed by or for any railroad company. (See NRS 
338.080) 

 
6. Design professionals as defined under NRS 338.010(7). 

 
 

iii. Overtime  (see NRS 338.020) 
 

1. Pursuant to the provisions of NRS 338.020, a contractor or 
subcontractor must pay any mechanic or workman one and one half 
times the applicable prevailing wage rate for work performed on a public 
work in excess of forty hours in a workweek or eight hours in any 
workday. 
 

2. An exception to the daily overtime rule may apply when, by mutual 
agreement, a mechanic or workman works a scheduled 10 hours per 
day for 4 calendar days within a scheduled week of work. (See Advisory 
Opinion AO 2013-04) 
 

iv. Benefits - While under Nevada law, part of an employer’s/contractor’s 
obligation for the payment of the applicable Prevailing Wage rate may be 
discharged by providing certain benefits for the employee.  It is important to 
note that the employer/contractor must make that contribution to a third person 
pursuant to a fund, plan or program in the name of the workman. Unless such 
contributions leave the employer/contractor and are received by the third 
person administrator in the name of the workman, there can be no discharge of 
any obligation. (See NRS 338.035) 

 
d. Things To Remember 

 
i. Salaried employees must be paid the applicable Prevailing Wage rate for the 

work they perform on a prevailing wage job site. They must be paid the 
applicable rate of wages for the classification of work performed. There is no 
“salaried employee” exception for any workman under NRS 338. 
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ii. Owners (and their family members) must be paid the applicable prevailing 

wage rate for the work they perform on a prevailing wage job site. They must 
be paid the applicable rate of wages for the classification of work performed. 
There is no “owner” exception for any workman under NRS 338. (See Advisory 
Opinion AO 2015-06) 

 
iii. Federal Davis-Bacon rules, rates etc. do not supersede Nevada law where 

there is a combination of federal and state funding on a public work project or 
where the State of Nevada or a local government body or agency maintains 
oversight of such a project regardless of funding source. Under such 
circumstances, the State of Nevada and the Federal government have 
“concurrent jurisdiction” with regard to enforcing Federal and state 
requirements. As a result, Awarding/Public Bodies must ensure that all 
contractors and subcontractors on such projects comply with both Federal and 
state requirements.  

 
III. GENERAL RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE AWARDING BODY  

 
a. REPORTS TO THE LABOR COMMISSIONER: Each of the following forms can be 

obtained from our website at www.labor.nv.gov. 
 

i. REQUEST FOR PUBLIC WORKS IDENTIFYING NUMBER (PWP NUMBER) 
referred to throughout NRS 338 as Identifying Number. (See NRS 338.013) 
 
The number is to be requested at the time the public body decides to undertake 
a public work. The public body is responsible for making the request from the 
Labor Commissioner. The Labor Commissioner has a form available for that 
purpose. The form can be found at – www.labor.nv.gov.  
 

ii. The PWP Number is to be included in any advertisement or other type of 
solicitation, and the number must be included in any bid or other document 
submitted in response to the advertisement or other type of solicitation.  
Because of this, the awarding body is advised to request the number at the 
time it decides to undertake the public work. This should allow ample time for 
processing and issuing of the number by the Labor Commissioner. Try avoiding 
last minute requests, i.e., the day or two before the public work is to be 
advertised.  
 
Do not confuse the PWP Number with other numbers that are often used on a 
project. For example the contractor or public body may use a number it has 
assigned to the project for its own purposes. The Public Work Project Number 
issued by the Labor Commissioner looks like this:    CC–2013–123     
 

iii. Usually only one (1) PWP Number should exist for each public work. The first 
two letters of the number represent the county in which the project is to be 
located. However, projects that have different phases that cross over calendar 
years or applicable Prevailing Wage years may require separate PWP numbers 
based on separate contracts. If the project is located in multiple counties it will 
begin with Multi, for example: Multi–2013–123 

 

http://www.labor.nv.gov/
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iv. Construction Manager at Risk (CMAR) Projects have a different timeline than 
other Public Works Projects.  A PWP Number for a CMAR Project should be 
obtained when the CMAR Project is awarded and/or when the Guaranteed 
Maximum Price has been agreed to so that applicable Prevailing Wage rates 
apply. 

 
b. NOTIFICATION OF CANCELED OR DELAYED PUBLIC WORKS PROJECTS 

 
Once a PWP Number has been requested and, for whatever reason, a project is to be 
canceled or delayed, the public body shall complete this form and submit it to the 
Labor Commissioner. 

 
c. NOTICE OF AWARD FOR PUBLIC WORKS PROJECT 

 
Each public body which awards a contract for any public work shall report its award to 
the Labor Commissioner within 10 days after the award, giving the name and address 
of the contractor to whom the public body awarded the contract and the identifying 
number for the public work. 

 
d. NOTICE OF COMPLETION FOR PUBLIC WORKS PROJECT 

The public body which awarded the contract shall report the completion of all work 
performed under the contract to the Labor Commissioner before the final payment is 
due to the contractor by the public body. (Emphasis added).  

If the public body is aware of an ongoing investigation or believes wages, forfeitures, 
or penalties apply for violations of NRS 338. 010 to NRS 338.090, inclusive, or NAC 
338.005 to NAC 338.125, you should work with your legal counsel and the Office of 
the Labor Commissioner to assure lawful and adequate funds are withheld from 
payments to the contractor to cover wages owed as well as forfeitures or penalties. 
Refer to the section on investigations and the withholding of payment to the contractor. 

 
e. REPORTING OF SUBCONTRACTORS 

 
Each contractor engaged on a public work shall report to the Labor Commissioner and 
the public body that awarded the contract the name and address of each subcontractor 
whom the contractor engages for work on the project within 10 days after the 
subcontractor commences work on the contract. There is a form for reporting 
subcontractors to the Labor Commissioner it can be obtained from our website. 
Include on all reports the PWP Number for the public work. (See NRS 338.013) 
 

f. If a public body is uncertain as to the applicability of prevailing wages to a certain 
project, the public body may seek formal assistance from the Labor Commissioner. 
Please remember to include all pertinent information regarding the project including, 
but not limited to, the total project costs, project location, and a detailed description of 
the scope and nature of the project. Such requests may be made by:  
 

i. Pursuant to the provisions of NRS 233B.120, file a Petition for Declaratory 
Order with the Office of the Labor Commissioner.  
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ii. Request an Advisory Opinion from the Labor Commissioner pursuant to NAC 
607.650. 

 
IV. RECEIPT OF CERTIFIED PAYROLL REPORTS  

 
a. WHAT IS A CERTIFIED PAYROLL REPORT/RECORD (CPR)? (see NRS 338.070; 

NAC 338.094; and NAC 338.0056) 
 
The certified payroll report is a monthly record. It may be made up of two or more payroll 
reports, i.e., a contractor may pay its workers weekly and submit weekly certified payroll 
reports.  
 
Each report may be submitted on a form prescribed by the Labor Commissioner or in a 
format selected by the contractor or subcontractor that meets the requirements of the 
Labor Commissioner’s form and provides the required information. Each report must be 
accompanied by a statement of compliance, on a form prescribed by the Labor 
Commissioner, and executed by the contractor or subcontractor which certifies the 
truthfulness and accuracy of the payroll report.  
 
*So long as the CPR(s) contain the required information pursuant to NAC 338.094 or 
the information required by the Labor Commissioner’s CPR form and are submitted 
timely, compliance will be presumed.  Awarding Bodies shall not place special 
requirements such as arbitrary due dates, logos, or other special criteria on CPR 
reporting. 

 
b. SUBMISSION OF CERTIFIED PAYROLL REPORT 

 
The contractor engaged on the public work or subcontractor engaged on the public 
work shall ensure that a complete copy of the monthly certified payroll report/record is 
received by the public body awarding the contract no later than 15 days after the end 
of the month. (See NRS 338.070) 
 
A subcontractor may submit to the prime contractor, for submission to the public body, 
a copy of the record no later than the later of ten days after the end of the month; or a 
date agreed upon by the contractor and subcontractor. Nothing prohibits a 
subcontractor from submitting a copy of a certified payroll record for a calendar month 
directly to the public body by the 15th of the following month in which the reported 
workers were paid. Workers must be paid in accordance with the provisions of NRS 
608.060 and NRS 608.070.  These statutes state that employees must be paid at least 
twice a month and that agreements to deviate from the pay schedule can be made 
between the two parties as long as it is beneficial for both parties and the employee is 
not required by the employer to enter into the agreement. 
 
It is the responsibility of the contractor or subcontractor to submit the monthly certified 
payroll record to the awarding/public body. Do not submit certified payroll reports to the 
Labor Commissioner unless requested by the Labor Commissioner’s office.  It is the 
responsibility of the public body to ensure that these reports are received timely. An 
awarding body shall cause to be affixed to each certified payroll report or 
nonperformance payroll report that the awarding body receives the actual date on 
which the awarding body received the certified payroll report or nonperformance 
payroll report. (See NAC 338.100) 
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c. LATE SUBMISSION 

 
It makes no difference who submitted the certified payroll late. If the certified payroll is 
submitted late, it can result in a forfeiture being assessed pursuant to NRS 338.060(3). 
The forfeiture goes to the awarding body and is withheld from funds due the prime 
contractor. If the late payroll record is one belonging to a subcontractor the prime 
contractor may have a remedy available to it under NRS 338.070.  
 

 
d. NON-PERFORMANCE 

 
For each month after the contractor or subcontractor commences working on the 
public work in which the contractor or subcontractor does not employ any workers in 
connection with the public work, the contractor or subcontractor shall, in lieu of 
submitting a certified payroll record for that month, submit to the awarding body a 
nonperformance payroll report certifying that the contractor or subcontractor did not 
employ any workers on the public work during that month. (See NAC 338.098) 
 
A nonperformance payroll report must be completed on a form prescribed by the Labor 
Commissioner and must be submitted to the awarding body no later than 15 days after 
the end of a month in which the contractor or subcontractor did not employ any 
workers on the public work. 
 

e. DATE STAMP 
 
The public body shall cause to be affixed to each certified payroll report or 
nonperformance payroll report that the awarding body receives the actual date on 
which the awarding body received the certified payroll report or nonperformance 
payroll report. (See NAC 338.100) 

    
f. WHAT SHOULD BE REPORTED and CERTIFIED? 

 
i. The name of each worker. 

 
ii. The classification performed by each worker. The classification is based on the 

type of work actually performed by the worker. Do not rely on titles such as 
supervisor, assistant, lead man, helper, HVAC or other terms not included in 
the Nevada wage determination. The classification listed on a report must be in 
accordance with the recognized classes of workers, i.e., match an existing 
classification given the type of work actually performed. (see NRS 338.020) 

 
iii. Each report must include the number of hours worked by each worker per day 

on the public work. The report must not include any hours of work performed by 
the workers on another public work or private project. The hours multiplied by 
the rate of pay should match the gross wages paid for this job only, because 
the contractor or subcontractor is certifying what is paid for that worker on this 
project. (See NAC 338.094) 
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iv. APPRENTICES: When a contractor or subcontractor first lists an apprentice on 
a certified payroll report they must submit with that certified payroll report 
documentation to substantiate that the apprentice is registered with the Bureau 
of Apprenticeship and Training of the Office of Apprenticeship, Training, 
Employer and Labor Services of the Employment and Training Administration 
of the United States Department of Labor or its successor and the State 
Apprenticeship Council. (Emphasis added). A properly enrolled and registered 
apprentice is exempt from NRS 338.020 to NRS 338.090, inclusive. An 
apprentice is paid pursuant to the terms of the apprenticeship agreement for 
the type of work covered by apprenticeship agreement. (see NRS 338.080) 
 
Apprenticeship Ratio: Be sure to review each apprenticeship agreement to see 
if it provides for a ratio of apprentices to journeymen. It the ratio is not complied 
with the apprentice is to be paid at full journeyman rate for the type of work 
performed. (See NAC 338.0095).  Awarding bodies may contact the Office of 
the Labor Commissioner to verify the proper apprenticeship ration. 
 

v. BENEFITS: 
 
If the contractor or subcontractor makes contributions as authorized by NRS 
338.035 and if any such contributions were made as part of the wages of that 
worker, an itemization of the contributions must be reported on the certified 
payroll report. The itemization should be indicated as a dollar per hour amount, 
rather than a lump sum. That dollar amount is to be paid for each hour worked 
including for each hour of overtime worked, however, the overtime rate of time 
and one-half does not apply. 
 
The contributions must be made to a third party fund, plan or program in the 
name of the worker. These contributions are not the same as a deduction from 
wages. The deductions are taken from what the worker is paid, the 
contributions are not. The most common examples of acceptable contributions 
include to health and welfare (medical insurance), retirement/pension, 
training/apprentice, or vacation. Any contribution other than health and welfare 
(medical insurance), retirement/pension, training/apprentice, or vacation should 
be questioned. It should not be permitted until discussed among the effected 
parties, including this office, refer to NRS 338.035.   

 
vi. IDENTIFICATION OF WORKERS:  

 
Each contractor and subcontractor engaged on a public work shall keep or 
cause to be kept an accurate record showing, for each worker, the name of the 
worker, the occupation of the worker, if the worker has a driver’s license or 
identification card, and an indication of the state or other jurisdiction that issued 
the license or card. The above information must be included on the certified 
payroll record.  (See NRS 338.070) 
 
An additional record, that is confidential, must be maintained that shows for 
each worker employed in connection with the public work, who has a driver’s 
license or identification card, the name of the worker; the driver’s license 
number or identification card number of the worker, and the state or other 
jurisdiction that issued the license or card. To the extent that social security 
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numbers are still being used, it is recommended that only the last four digits be 
used. (See NRS 338.0117) 
 

vii. PUBLIC BODY’S RIGHT TO OBTAIN RECORDS:  A contractor or 
subcontractor engaged on a public work shall provide to the public body payroll 
records and any other records deemed necessary to verify the accuracy of 
information contained in any certified payroll report. This information is to be 
provided upon the request of the public body. The contractor and any 
subcontractor engaged on the public work will maintain and make available for 
inspection within this State his or her records concerning payroll relating to the 
public work. (see NRS 338.070; NAC 338.094) 

 
V. REVIEW OF CERTIFIED PAYROLL REPORTS  

 
a. OBLIGATION OF PUBLIC BODY TO REVIEW: Any public body awarding a contract 

shall investigate possible violations of the provisions of NRS 338.010 to NRS 338.090, 
inclusive, and NAC 338. 005 to NAC 338.125, inclusive, committed in the course of the 
execution of the contract.  They must also determine whether a violation has been 
committed and inform the Labor Commissioner of any such violations.(See NRS 
338.070) 
 
***Determinations for late Certified Payroll Reports where the Awarding is 
waiving the forfeiture, reversing a Determination, and/or there is no Objection 
should not be sent to the Office of the Labor Commissioner. 
 

 
b. TIMELINESS: The monthly record, which will consist of two or more reports, needs to 

be received by the awarding body by the 15th of the following month in which the 
workers are paid.  

 
c. DATE STAMP: The public body awarding the public work is required to date stamp 

each report with the date that the report is received by the awarding body. This date 
stamp is needed as a means for the awarding body to identify when the report was 
received. The awarding body can then investigate for violations and issue 
determinations. If it is determined a violation occurred due to late filing, forfeitures must 
be calculated by the awarding body by way of a determination. The assessment of 
forfeitures can deter future late filing of certified payroll records. (See NRS 338.060; 
NAC 338.100) 

 
d. WHAT TO EXAMINE:  Examination of the certified payroll reports are to be made at 

reasonable times to ensure compliance with the provisions of NRS 338.010 to NRS 338.090, 
inclusive, and NAC 338. 005 to NAC 338.125, inclusive. Such an examination should include 
such items as follows: 
 
All workers performing work on-site are to be reported on the certified payroll report based on 
the type of work actually performed by the worker, the number of hours worked per worker per 
day on this project only, and in accordance with the recognized classes of workers. The 
certified payroll report must not include any hours of work performed by the workers on 
another public work or private project. (See NAC 338.094) 
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i. Completeness and accuracy. 
 

Each report must supply adequate information to identify the project, the period of time for 
which the report was submitted, the public body that is to receive the report, a brief 
description of the project, the PWP Number, the prime contractor or subcontractor for 
whom the workers have been reported, the name of the prime contractor awarded the 
project, the name of each on-site worker, the days and hours worked, the classification 
worked for each hour, the rate paid for each  hour, the total hours worked on the project, 
the gross pay for the period on this project only, the net paid, and itemization of 
contributions pursuant to NRS 338.035.  
 
Any payroll report submitted should be sufficiently complete and accurate so that anyone 
who reviews the certified payroll report can determine whether or not each worker has 
been paid the appropriate rate for the classification worked and for all hours worked and to 
ensure overtime is paid correctly when it applies. 
 
Make sure that the reported classifications are in accordance with the jurisdictional classes 
recognized in the locality where the work is performed. Meaning, each classification listed 
must be a classification listed in the Nevada prevailing wage determination that applies to 
the project. For example, there are no classifications such as a lead man, HVAC repair 
person, tractor operator, carpenter helper, or electrician assistant.  

 
ii. Check to see if the worker is paid the required prevailing rate.  

 
Every public work contract must contain, in express terms, the rate of wages to be paid to 
each of the classes of mechanics and workers. The applicable prevailing wage rates must 
be posted on the site of the public work in a place generally visible to the workers. (See 
NRS 338.020) 

 
If the rates that are posted or that are contained in the contract are incorrect, it does not 
mean the incorrect rates apply. Mistakes do not change what Nevada law requires. If both 
federal Davis Bacon rates and Nevada prevailing rates apply to a project the greater of the 
two rates is to be paid.  However, Nevada does not enforce Davis Bacon rates.  We can 
only enforce the portion of the rates that apply under Nevada law. 
 
a. WHAT RATE TO APPLY: The worker must be paid the rate for the type of work 

actually performed. Misclassifications are not uncommon. Again, look at the type of 
work performed; not just the classification listed. For example, a worker may say that 
he is a cement mason and he is being paid as a cement mason. While in reality, he 
may be performing other types of work. If he is building forms more than one board 
high he may be performing the work of a carpenter. If he is tying wire mesh or rebar 
used to reinforce concrete he should be paid as an iron worker.  If you are uncertain as 
to what classification a particular job may be, you may contact the Office of the Labor 
Commissioner for clarification. 
 
Compare the rates reported on the certified payroll to the required rate. The actual rate 
paid is determined by adding the rate paid directly to the worker plus any contributions 
made to a third person pursuant to a fund, plan, or program in the name of the worker. 
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b. DAILY OVERTIME: Review for proper payment of overtime. The overtime rate is one 
and one-half times the regular rate paid to the worker. Overtime is to be paid for every 
hour worked in excess of eight hours in a workday. There is no required premium pay 
for weekend or holiday work.  (See NRS 338.020) 
 
A workday is defined as a period of 24 consecutive hours that begins when the 
employee begins work. This can be confusing, so when determining overtime pay, 
keep the following things in mind: 
 

i. Once the 24 hour workday begins it is consecutive and lasts a full 24 hours. 
ii.No 24 workday can overlap another, although there may be a gap between 

workdays. 
iii. Generally, overtime for work in excess of eight hours in a workday will 

occur before overtime over 40 hours in a work week.  
 
c. DAILY OVERTIME EXCEPTION: There is one exception to the overtime pay of work 

in excess of eight hours in a work day. If the worker and employer mutually agree to 
the employee working a scheduled ten hours per day, for four calendar days, within 
any scheduled week of work.  (See NRS 338.020) 
 
This is a very narrow definition. The scheduling of four-tens must be mutual. The 
worker must work the scheduled four, ten hour days. That means 10 hours each of the 
four days.  No more, and no less. If these conditions do not occur then overtime must 
be paid to the worker for all work in excess of eight hours in a workday. (See NRS 
338.020) 
 

d. WEEKLY OVERTIME: Nevada requires that overtime be paid for all hours worked in 
excess of 40 hours in any scheduled week of work. A week of work is defined as 
seven consecutive periods of 24 hours which may begin on any day and at any hour of 
the day. (See NRS 338.020) 

 
e. POTENTIAL ISSUES: The certified payroll report is not to include days and hours 

worked on other jobs. However, a worker is to be paid for all time worked and 
applicable overtime. How does the public body know what hours the worker may have 
worked on the projects? It may indicate on a certified payroll report or you may find out 
by speaking with the workers. If that occurs and the worker believes he/she is due 
overtime have them contact our office and we will work with the public body to 
investigate all hours worked on all projects. 
 
There are no state requirements for weekend, holiday or many of the other commonly 
accepted premium pay rates. 
 

VI. WHO MUST BE PAID THE PREVAILING RATE 
 
a. Workers, mechanics, and laborers; skilled, semi-skilled, or unskilled in the 

performance of work at the site of the work that is necessary to the construction of the 
public work are to be paid the applicable prevailing wage rate for the type of work 
performed, regardless of skill level and regardless of whether that worker is employed 
lawfully or unlawfully. (See NRS338.040; NAC338.009) 
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b. FOREMAN AND GENERAL FOREMAN. A foreman is defined as a person who works 
with and supervises one or more journeymen performing a craft or type of work.  A 
general foreman is defined as a person who works with and supervises one or more 
journeymen performing a craft or type of work, including, without limitation, one or 
more foremen. (see NAC338.015) 
 

f. EXCEPTIONS:  
 
APPRENTICES: Workers who are enrolled in a bona fide apprenticeship program and 
registered with the Nevada Apprenticeship Council are exempt from being paid the 
prevailing wage rate.  
 
When a contractor or subcontractor first lists an apprentice on a certified payroll report, 
the contractor or subcontractor must submit with that certified payroll report 
documentation to substantiate that the apprentice is registered in a bona fide 
apprenticeship program and registered with the Nevada Apprenticeship Council.  

 
The apprenticeship program will state what rate the apprentice is to be paid at. Most 
apprenticeship programs will provide a ratio of apprentices to journeymen and the 
employer must abide by that ratio. Lastly the apprentice must be performing the type of 
work that is within the type of apprenticeship he/she is enrolled. For example a laborer 
apprentice is not to perform carpenter, electrical, iron work, etc. If the employer does 
not comply with all of these requirements the worker is to be paid the full journeyman 
rate for the type of work performed. 

 
DESIGN PROFESSIONAL: The exception being a design professional. A design 
professional is defined as a person who is licensed as a professional engineer or a 
professional land surveyor, pursuant to chapter 625 of the NRS; a person who holds a 
certificate of registration to engage in the practice of architecture, interior design, or 
residential design, pursuant to chapter 623 of the NRS; or a person who holds a 
certificate of registration to engage in the practice of landscape architecture, pursuant 
to chapter 623A of the NRS.  (See NRS 338.010(23); NRS 338.010(7)) 

 
 

VII.   REVIEWING CERTIFIED PAYROLL REPORTS 
 

In order to catch a potential problem before it occurs, it is a good idea to review the certified 
payroll reports.  Below are some examples of things to look out for. 

 

 An employee worked more than 8 hours a day but no overtime was paid. Perhaps they are 
working four-tens. Make sure the employee did, in fact, work four, ten hour shifts.  

 

 The hours worked do not match what the employee was paid.  
 

 The employee appears to be underpaid.  There are several instances that would cause the 
employee to appear to be underpaid.  The employee could be an apprentice.  Make sure that 
the proper apprentice documents are on file.  The calculations could be incorrect; review your 
numbers.  Additionally, check to make sure that contributions were taken into account.  
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 You get a report from a subcontractor for who has not been reported properly to the public 
body. Get the paperwork in order and notify the contractor, who failed to report their 
subcontractor, that a violation occurred.  

 

 Look for classifications that are not in accordance with recognized classifications. You may 
get a report saying owner/operator and no further information.  Owner/operators are not 
exempt from being reported and being paid the prevailing rate.  You may see a worker 
reported as a supervisor.  Again, look at the type of work actually performed rather than the 
title given to the worker.  Many classifications require the payment of the prevailing rate to 
foremen and general foremen.  
 

 The type of work reported for that subcontractor should match the work reported on the 
certified payroll report. When a subcontractor is reported, the report is to include the scope of 
work to be performed by the subcontractor in connection with the public work. If the 
subcontractor is reported as performing iron work but the certified payroll reports indicate 
labors and carpenters there may be a potential issue. 
 

 Check for a disproportionate mix of workers reported. If a contractor or subcontractor is 
framing a building and lists half of its workers as laborers, there may be a problem.  
 

 If field reports or observations indicate work outside normal hours, perhaps overtime is being 
worked. This should be indicated on the certified payroll reports.  
 

 If workers appear to be working eight hour days or full weeks, but only partial days and weeks 
are being reported, further review might be needed. 

 
VIII. INVESTIGATION OF POSSIBLE VIOLATIONS. 

 
a. WHAT TRIGGERS AN INVESTIGATION BY AN AWARDING BODY? 

 
i. SELF AUDIT: A public body awarding a contract shall investigate possible 

violations and determine whether a violation has been committed and inform 
the Labor Commissioner of any such violations. Such an investigation may be 
initiated based upon any information, formal or informal, that comes to the 
attention of the awarding body. This includes, but is not limited to: 
 

1. Concerns identified during the review of certified payroll reports. 
2. Concerns expressed by or to the awarding body’s project manager. 
3. Calls or letters received by the awarding body. 

        
*** The Awarding Body should provide notice to the Office of the Labor 
Commissioner of any Self Audits in order to obtain technical assistance as 
needed.  
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ii. WAGE CLAIMS: A wage claim is submitted by an individual who maintains that 

they performed work on a prevailing wage project. The wage claim provides 
specific details as to the scope of work performed, the actual wages paid, and 
classification of work that individual believes they performed. Such a claim may 
be for unpaid wages, misclassification, unpaid overtime, or a combination of 
alleged violations. 
 

*** The Awarding Body should provide notice to the Office of the Labor 
Commissioner of any Wage Claims prior to conducting an Investigation. 
 

iii. THIRD PARTY COMPLAINTS: A third party complaint is generally filed against 
a specific contractor performing work on a prevailing wage project. The 
allegations may be made on behalf of an individual worker or a group or class 
of employees. 

 
*** The Awarding Body should provide notice to the Office of the Labor 
Commissioner of any Third Party Complaints prior to conducting an 
Investigation. 

 
iv. COMMON REASONS FOR WHICH COMPLAINTS/WAGE CLAIMS ARE 

FILED: 
 

1. Misclassification of the worker 
 

2. Mistaken belief that the worker is not subject to payment of prevailing 
wages for work performed 

 
3. Failure to pay overtime 

 
4. Failure to meet the applicable journeyman to foreman ratio 

 
5. Failure to meet the applicable apprentice to journeyman ratio 

 
6. Failure to remit payment for benefits to the third party administrator 

 
7. Using impermissible benefits to meet the prevailing wage rate 

 
b. STEPS IN CONDUCTING AN INVESTIGATION 

 
i. PRELIMINARY STEPS 

 
1. Determine Jurisdiction 

1. Was the project a “public work” owned by this awarding body? 
2. Was the worker, or class of worker, subject to the payment of 

prevailing wage?  
 

***JURISDICTIONAL ISSUES:  Before initiating an Investigation 
involving the assignment of work pursuant to a Collective Bargaining 
Agreement, the Awarding Body should contact the Office of the Labor 
Commissioner to determine if jurisdiction is proper. 
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2. Compile all necessary information. While the information necessary for 

a complete and comprehensive investigation will vary depending upon 
the issue(s) involved, most will entail a review of the following: 

1. The complaint/claim received.  
2. Copies of the applicable certified payroll reports for the 

contractor/time in question. 
3. Daily reports maintained by the awarding body’s project 

manager and maintained by the prime contractor. 
4. Copies of the applicable prevailing wage rate determination for 

the location and time in question. 
5. Copies of workers classification descriptions for any possible job 

classification at issue. 
6. A signed copy of the public works contract, with special attention 

to the scope of work described in the contract. 
7. All applicable time and payroll records for the identified 

contractor. This will include, but not be limited to: time cards, 
cancelled checks, payroll journals, and supporting 
documentation applicable to the payment of benefits to third 
party administrators. 

8. Pay stubs and time records maintained by the worker(s) in 
question. 

 
ii. Contact the contractor/prime contractor. 

 
1. At the very onset of the investigation, advise both the contractor 

and prime contractor of the nature and scope of the investigation 
and your expectation of cooperation throughout the process. 

2. Obtain all contact information necessary to conduct the 
investigation. This will include the names, addresses, titles, and 
responsibilities of individuals having any authority with the 
project in question. 

3. Request any supporting documentation that will assist in your 
investigation. 

4. Interview any individual that may be able to provide pertinent 
details regarding the case. This may include project managers, 
supervisors, foremen, and/or other individuals working on the 
project site. Depending upon the issue being investigated, this 
may also include individuals responsible for payroll accounting, 
purchasing, and third party administrators. 
 

iii. Employee Interviews. 
 

1. At the very onset of the investigation, advise the worker/claimant 
of the nature and scope of the investigation and your 
expectation of cooperation throughout the process. 

2. Do not limit the investigation to the claimant alone. If an issue 
affects one worker, very often the same issue will affect other 
workers on the projects.  
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iv. Identify, contact, and interview impartial witnesses.  
 

c. Pursuant to the provisions of NAC 338.110, all investigations by the awarding body 
must be completed within “30 days unless an additional period of time is 
approved by the Labor Commissioner.”  

 
i. If during the investigative process it becomes apparent that a final written 

determination will not be completed with 30 days of receipt of that claim or 
complaint, submit a written request to the Labor Commissioner, or his 
designee, requesting an additional period of time to complete the investigation. 
Be specific as to how much time will be needed, as well as the reason for the 
delay.  An extension of up to 30 days may be granted at a time. 
 

ii. The failure of any awarding body to complete their investigation in the time 
required could result in the assessment of an administrative fine of up to 
$5,000.00 by the Labor Commissioner. (see NRS 338.015) 

 
d. Determination   

 
***Determinations for late Certified Payroll Reports where the Awarding is 
waiving the forfeiture or there is no Objection should not be sent to the Office of 
the Labor Commissioner. 

 
i. At the conclusion of the investigation on a Wage Claim or Third Party 

Complaint *** (Not a late CPR Determination), the awarding body will issue a 
written determination containing their findings. That determination will include: 

 
1. A finding as to whether a violation of NRS Chapter 338 occurred and a 

statement of the facts and evidence that support that finding.  The 
determination must include the information and documentation 
required pursuant to NAC section 338.110, subdivision (6). 
 

2. If a violation occurred the Determination must contain the following 
pursuant to NAC section 338.110 subdivision (6): 

 
“6.  In addition to submitting a copy of the determination issued 
by the awarding body to the Labor Commissioner pursuant to 
subsection 4, the awarding body shall provide to the Labor 
Commissioner the following information pertaining to the 
determination issued by the awarding body: 
     (a)  A detailed narrative of the findings of the investigation; 
     (b)  The name and address of the contractor or subcontractor  
 and its responsible officers; 
     (c)  If a subcontractor is alleged to have committed the  
 violation, the name and address of: 
          (1)  The prime contractor for the public work and its  
 responsible officers; and 
          (2)  Any intermediate subcontractor and the respective  
 responsible officers of that subcontractor; 
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     (d)  A copy of the contract for the public work, or an excerpt of  
the portion of the contract that the Labor Commissioner 
determines is relevant, which must include, without 
limitation, information identifying the deadline by which 
bids on the contract were accepted, the date on which the 
contract was awarded and the scope of work performed by 
the contractor or subcontractor; 

     (e)  Copies of any claims or complaints received by the  
 awarding body from the Labor Commissioner relating to the  
 investigation; 
     (f)  Copies of the applicable certified payroll reports and  
 nonperformance payroll reports submitted by the  
 contractor or subcontractor; 
     (g)  If applicable, signed interview statements of employees of  
 the contractor or subcontractor; 
     (h)  If applicable, computations of penalties and back wages for  
 each worker, including, without limitation, the name,  
 address and social security number of the worker; and 
     (i)  The identifying number requested from the Labor  
 Commissioner by the public body pursuant to  

NRS 338.013.” 
 

3. Include in the determination, notice of the appeal rights of any impacted 
party. 

 
For your use, here is the NOTICE language that must be 
included in any determination issued by an awarding body 
in the State of Nevada. Please ensure that ALL parties are 
copied on the determination. This includes the Prime 
Contractor, all Subcontractors, and the 
claimant(s)/complainant(s). 
 
Pursuant to the provisions of Nevada Administrative Code 
(NAC) 338.110, a person who is served a copy of this 
determination and who is aggrieved by the determination may 
file a written objection with the Office of the Labor Commissioner 
within 15 days after the date of service of the determination. The 
objection must include a statement of the grounds for the 
objection and evidence substantiating the objection. The 
objection must be submitted to: 
 
[INSERT THE NAME AND ADDRESS OF THE CONTACT 
PERSON FROM THE OFFICE OF THE LABOR 
COMMISSIONER] 
 
In addition, please submit a copy of your objection, with 
attachments to: 
 
 
 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-338.html#NRS338Sec013
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[INSERT THE NAME AND ADDRESS OF THE CONTACT 
PERSON FROM THE AWARDING BODY] 
 
If the objection does not satisfy the aforementioned 
requirements, or if an objection is not filed with the Office of the 
Labor Commissioner in a timely manner, the determination of 
the [NAME OF AWARDING BODY] may be confirmed as a 
Final Order of the Labor Commissioner. 

 
e. ASSESSMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE FINES/DISQUALIFICATION – If, as a result of 

the investigation, it becomes apparent that the actions of the contractor or 
subcontractor warrant disqualification pursuant to the provisions of NRS 338.017, the 
assessment of administrative fines and disqualification must be stated in the 
determination. If such sanctions are sought, include a detailed description of the 
actions or behavior of the contractor or subcontractor in that written determination.  
 

f. INVESTIGATIVE COSTS – Pursuant to the provisions of NRS 338.060(7), an 
awarding body may seek reimbursement for investigative costs. If such costs are 
sought, include that request in the written determination along with a clear and concise 
statement describing how such costs were calculated. 

 
IX. RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE CONTRACTORS  

 
a. The general contractor has 10 days after the subcontractor commences work to report 

the subcontractor to the awarding body and the Labor Commissioner’s Office.   The 
Labor Commissioner’s Office will provide forms to be used for reporting 
subcontractors. 
 

b. In accordance with NRS 338.070(4-6) contractors engaged on public works projects 
must submit the payroll reports within 15 days after the end of the month.  A statement 
of compliance must be completed for each payroll report submitted.  The 
nonperformance forms must be completed for weeks when no work is done by the 
contractor or subcontractor.   

 
c. A general contractor is responsible for wages of its workers and those of the 
subcontractors. Pursuant to NRS 608.150, the general contractor is responsible for all 
labor wages incurred on the public works projects.  
 
d. The contractor and any subcontractor engaged on the public work will maintain and 
make available for inspection within this State his or her records concerning payroll 
relating to the public work. 
 
e. The Labor Commissioner, or a person designated by the Labor Commissioner, may 
enter any public or private works or place of employment at any reasonable time to gather 
facts and statistics and make a record thereof. 
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X. RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE OFFICE OF THE LABOR COMMISSIONER 

 
a. ESTABLISHING THE PREVAILING WAGE RATE. 

 
i. SURVEY – Each year, in accordance to NRS 338.030, the Office of the Labor 

Commissioner conducts a survey for construction work performed in the State 
of Nevada.  The survey includes commercial hours worked between July 1 of 
the previous calendar year and June 30 of the current year.  Surveys must be 
submitted by July 15th of the current year in order to be counted for the 
upcoming year.  

 
ii. PUBLICATION: The prevailing wages for the upcoming year are posted by 

Office of the Labor Commissioner in late September. The rates are effective 
October 1st through September 30th of the following year. 
 

iii. CORRECTIVE ACTION: Within 30 days after the wages are published a public 
body or other persons entitled to be heard pursuant to NRS 338.030(5), may 
submit an objection with evidence in substantiate that a different wage prevails 
in a county.   

 
b. Acceptance/initial review of a prevailing wage claim/complaint.  

 
i. A prevailing wage complaint or wage claim may be filed with the Labor 

commissioner in accordance with NAC 338.107.  The complaint must include 
the following information: 

1. The name and contact information of the person or entity making the 
complaint. 

2. The name and contact information of the person or entity who is alleged 
to have committed the violation. 

3. A statement containing the details of the violation. 
4. The statutes believed to be the basis of the complaint. 
5. The remedy requested in the complaint. 
6. Signature certification of the person making the complaint. 

 
 

c. Referral of claim/complaint to awarding body for investigation 
  

i. Notice to awarding body - Copies to Prime contractor/contractor. When the 
Office of the Labor Commissioner receives a complaint or wage claim the 
awarding body is notified via U.S. Mail of the complaint.  Copies of the 
complaint are served to the Prime and subcontractors for the project named in 
the compliant.   

ii. Awarding bodies must investigate complaints or wage claims pursuant to NAC 
338.110.  Within 30 days of receipt there must be a determination issued. The 
awarding body may request additional time to conclude its investigation.  This 
time must be approved by the Labor Commissioner’s Office.   
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d. Receipt of Determination. 
  

i. Review by the Office of the Labor Commissioner: Upon receipt of a 
determination issued by an awarding body, the Office of the Labor 
Commissioner will review the determination.  At that time, it may be returned to 
the awarding body with directives for further investigation; be modified; be 
affirmed, with a request for amounts of wages and penalties; set for a hearing; 
or dismissed due to the Labor Commissioner declining to assert jurisdiction.   

ii. The awarding body will ensure that all parties were properly served with a copy 
of the determination and that proper notice of appeal/objection rights was 
provided. 

iii. The Office of the Labor Commissioner may, if the determination is deemed 
inadequate for whatever reason, may return it to the awarding for further 
investigation. 

iv. If an appropriate objection is filed by a party to the action, the Office of the 
Labor Commissioner may forward that objection to the awarding body to review 
for further investigation.  

v. The awarding body will ensure that all parties were properly served with a copy 
of the amended determination and that proper notice of appeal/objection rights 
was provided. 

vi. If no objection to either the determination or amended determination is filed, the 
Office of the Labor Commissioner will review the determination and will issue a 
Final Administrative Order affirming, modifying or dismissing the determination 
issued by the awarding body. 
 

e. HEARING PROCESS – If an appropriate objection has been filed by a party to a 
prevailing wage claim or complaint, the Labor Commissioner or his designee will begin 
the hearing process. 
 

i. Pre-Hearing – A formal pre-hearing conference will be scheduled and properly 
noticed by the Labor Commissioner or his designee. During the course of the 
prehearing conference, the Labor Commissioner or his designee will work with 
all parties to: 

1. Clearly identify any and all issues in dispute. 
2. Attempt to reach an appropriate resolution to any and all issues with 

appropriate guidelines and parameters established by the Labor 
Commissioner or their designee. 

3. If attempts to resolve all matters prove unsuccessful, the Labor 
Commissioner or their designee may set the matter for Hearing and 
issue a Notice of Hearing. 

 
 

f. FINAL HEARING – Formal Administrative Hearings are conducted by the Labor 
Commissioner or their designee pursuant to the provisions of NAC 338.116, NRS and 
NAC Chapter 607 and NRS Chapter 233B. Within 30 days of the conclusion of the 
hearing, the Labor Commissioner or his designee shall issue a Final Order. 
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NOTES 
 


